Phoenix House’s 7th Annual Triumph For Teens Gala

Sunday, April 25th, 2010

Los Angeles’ top entertainment and business leaders gathered at the Four Seasons Hotel in Beverly Hills on April 20, 2010 for Phoenix House’s seventh annual “Triumph For Teens” Awards Gala.  The event raised funds to support Phoenix House’s teen residential treatment centers, family therapy and prevention programs and featured special tributes to this year’s honorees—the cast and producers of Fox’s hit drama Bones and Zev Yaroslavsky, LA County Supervisor, 3rd District.

“We are facing extremely difficult times, which is why your support tonight is invaluable,” said Timothy Noonan, Phoenix Houses of California Board Chairman.  “You help Phoenix House continue its treatment programs amidst public funding cuts and, in doing so, safeguard our youth, open the door to their recovery, and help them change their lives in vital and lasting ways.”

Kevin Reilly, President, Entertainment, Fox Broadcasting Company presented the 2010 Phoenix Rising Award to the cast and executive producers of Bones, a drama that captures real life struggles portrayed by characters with whom the teens at Phoenix House can readily identify.  Executive Producer Stephen Nathan, who has been a friend to Phoenix House for years, received the award on behalf of the cast and  co-producers Hart Hanson, Barry Josephson, and Ian Toynton.

George Mihlsten presented the 2010 Public Service Award to Supervisor Zev Yaroslavsky for his contribution to civic life, long-time commitment to treatment and exemplary leadership in bringing positive change to the lives of at-risk and disadvantaged youth and families in Los Angeles.  Recounting his involvement with Phoenix House, Yaroslavsky called upon guests to continue and strengthen their support of Phoenix House’s unique and effective approach to healing troubled youth and their families.

Actor Charles Shaughnessy hosted the evening’s program, which featured red carpet arrivals, a cocktail reception, silent auction, and dinner.  Serving as event co-chairs were Christina and Timothy J. Noonan, Jeanne and Anthony Pritzker, Kevin Reilly, and George Mihlsten.  Sheriff Lee Baca and former mayor of Los Angeles Richard Riordan joined as honorary co-chairs.  Major sponsors included Timothy J. Noonan of Lockton Insurance Brokers, LLC and Anthony and Jeanne Pritzker Family Foundation as “Benefactors,” and Bank of America, Fox Broadcasting Company & Twentieth Century Fox Television, Neil Kadisha, Lynda and Stewart Resnick, Chris Weitz, Mary Hayley & Selim Zilkha as “Patrons.”

Phoenix House’s annual “Triumph for Teens” awards gala celebrates the victories of young people over substance abuse.  It is an evening of recognition for adolescents who have learned the lessons of honesty, responsibility, and concern for others on their road to recovery.

Previous honorees have included Los Angeles Police Department Chief William J. Bratton, Los Angeles Juvenile Court Judge Michael Nash, Timothy Noonan, president and CEO of Lockton Insurance Brokers, LLC, Lynn Pike, COO of CapitalOne, television anchor, legal analyst, trial attorney, and best-selling author Rikki Klieman, actress and advocate Lorna Luft, Paramount Pictures’ Freedom Writers, directors Catherine Hardwicke (Thirteen) and Betty Thomas (28 Days) as well as six outstanding television shows:  ABC’s Brothers and Sisters and George Lopez, Fox’s House, CBS’s Joan of Arcadia, the WB series 7th Heaven, and Lifetime Television’s The Division.

Share this page: Print this page:
Filed Under:

1 Comment

  • This is one of, if not the, reason for why I am working through AmeriCorps and interning at Phoenix House. I truly believe that in our youth lies our future. I want to be part of an organization that TRULY SERVES our Communities. Thank You Phoenix House!!!!